Perceptions of Benefits and Risks Posed by Microbiota of Milks

Advancing the Science Webinar Series:

August 2017

  • Microbiota Informing Next-Generation Risks & Benefits by Peg Coleman and Warner North
  • Download Slides (PDF)

May 2017

  • The Bovine Milk Microbiome by Dr. Mark McGuire
  • Download Slides (PDF)

March 2017

  •  Human Milk: Mother Nature's Prototypical Probiotic Food? by Dr. Michelle McGuire
  •  Download Slides (PDF)

January 2017

  • Microbiota Informing NextGen Risks and Benefits - Protecting the Human Superorganism by Dr. Rodney Dietert
  • Download Slides (PDF)

 Read about the Entire Joint SRA RO Project Here

Phase One - Advancing the Science Webinar Series: Microbiota Informing NextGen Risks

Advancing the Science Webinar Series: Microbiota Informing NextGen Risks and Benefits This webinar series will introduce advances in knowledge of the interactions of the human microbiome and the microbiota of milk that impact estimation of risks and benefits to the human partner. The webinar series is organized by partnering Regional Organizations (Australia, New England, New Zealand, and Upstate NY) of the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) as the first of three phases of a project entitled Understanding Perceptions and Evidence of Benefits and Risks of Consuming Fresh Unprocessed (Certified Raw or Raw Drinking) Milk. Speakers will assist the audience in understanding:

1. ourselves as superorganisms with microbial partners that play synergistic roles with our innate immune systems in promoting health and protecting against pathogens Dr. Rodney Dietert (Cornell University), Protecting the Human Superorganism, Tuesday Jan 24, 4 pm EST/Wednesday, Jan 25: 8 am AEDT (Sydney); 10 am NZDT (Wellington); 

2. the roles of breast milk and its indigenous microbiota in development and maintenance of healthy immune system development in offspring Dr. Michelle McGuire (Washington State University). Human Milk: Mother Nature’s Prototypical Probiotic Food, Tuesday March 21, 4 pm EST/Wednesday, March 22: 8 am AEDT (Sydney); 10 am NZDT (Wellington); and 

3. the roles of the bovine milk and its indigenous microbiota in development and maintenance of healthy immune system development in offspring Dr. Mark McGuire (University of Idaho), Bovine Milk Microbiota: Insights and Perspectives from – Omics Studies, Tuesday May 23, 5:30 pm EST /2:30 pm PDT; Wednesday May 24, 7:30 am AEST (Sydney); 9:30 am NZST (Wellington).

4. exploring analytic-deliberative process with SRA risk practitioners on benefits and risks posed by the microbiota of milks Warner North (SRA Fellow and Upstate NY SRA President) and Peg Coleman (Coleman Scientific Consulting), Preparing to Deliberate Evidence on Benefits and Risks Posed by the Microbiota of Milks, Tues August 29, 5:30 pm EDT /2:30 pm PDT; Wed August 30, 7:30 am AEST (Sydney); 9:30 am NZST (Wellington).

The joint SRA RO project will culminate with exercises of analytic-deliberative process involving risk assessors, communicators, and managers from around the world participating in an SRA workshop and a round table symposium at the 2017 meeting (Arlington, VA, USA; December 10th – 14th). Renowned SRA Fellows will be facilitating the exercises of analytic-deliberative process at SRA 2017.
The major goals of the joint SRA RO project are to: 

  • build a shared understanding of microbial benefits and risks for milk with stakeholders; and 
  • facilitate a paradigm shift for an expanded framework for microbial benefit-risk assessment that incorporates the superorganism, food microbiota, and interactions contributing to health and disease.  

Contact persons for SRA RO partners are: 

 

 

Share