And the Winner Is… SRA Specialty Groups Announce 2013 Student Winners

The Risk Policy and Law, Engineering Infrastructure, and Risk Communication Specialty Groups each announced student winners in Baltimore.

The RPLSG student award winner for 2013 was Xiang Liu from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His paper was titled “Managing the Risk of Crude Oil Transportation by Rail.” Find details of this award series here.

Hiba Baroud, University of Oklahoma. and Mahalia Miller, Stanford, were the tied winners of the EISG student merit competition. Baroud’s presentation was titled “Modeling Resilience Stochastic Metrics with Bayesian kernel Methods: Application to Inland Waterway Networks.” Miller’s was on “Stimulation Approaches for Assessing the Impacts on Equity in a Region Due to Earthquakes.”  

For details of this competition – plus links to the video presentations of all five 2013 EISG student finalists on YouTube – go here.

And Joseph Steinhardt, Cornell University, won the ExxonMobil-sponsored Risk Communication Specialty Group student paper competition for his paper “The Impact of Narrative Messages on Prospect Theory Framing Effects.” Details are available here.

Will you or your student be among next year’s winners? Check out the pages for application details, which vary for each sponsoring specialty group, and additional contact information.