Risk Analysis background image


December 13, 2016

The Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) is pleased to announce the 14 recipients of the 2016 SRA Awards. These awards recognize outstanding contributions to the society and to the science of risk analysis. The recipients were selected by a committee of SRA past presidents and approved by the SRA Council. The awards were presented on December 13 during the organization’s Annual Meeting held in San Diego. This year’s awardees include:

2016 SRA Presidential Merit Award – Jose Palma-Oliveira from the University of Lisbon.

2016 SRA Chauncey Starr Distinguished Young Analyst Award – Emma Hartnett, PhD from Risk Sciences International. Given to a professional age 40 or under, Hartnett is recognized for her outstanding achievement in science or public policy relating to risk analysis and for exceptional promise for continued contributions to risk analysis.

2016 SRA Distinguished Educator Award – Tim McDaniels, PhD from the University of British Columbia for his substantial contributions to the training of new experts in risk analysis.

2016 Richard J. Burk Outstanding Service Award – Naomi Cogger, PhD from Massey University and SRA-ANZ, Elizabeth Nunes Alves from Engine Engenharia Ltda and SRA-LA, and Ullrika Sahlin from Lund University and SRA-Nordic for their extraordinary service to the Society

2016 SRA Outstanding Practitioner Award – Regis Pouillot, PhD from the US Food and Drug Administration for his outstanding risk analysis practice. 

2016 SRA Fellows – Selected for their substantial achievements in science or public policy relating to risk analysis and substantial service to the Society, the 2016 class of SRA Fellows includes: Asa Boholm from the University of Gothenburg, Dong Chun Shin, MD, PhD from Yonsei University, Robert Griffin, PhD from Marquette University, Lorenz Rhomberg, PhD from Gradient Corp, and Lisa Robinson from Harvard University. 

2016 SRA Distinguished Achievement Award – Elke Weber, PhD from Princeton University and Charles Haas, PhD from Drexel University for their extraordinary achievements in science or public policy relating to risk analysis.

Melanie Preve