In Memoriam

This page is dedicated to recognizing SRA members who have passed. SRA commits to appreciating, upholding, and sharing the positive impacts these members have had on our risk science communities.


Dr. Robert George Tardiff (1942 – 2023) Obituary

We are saddened by the passing of renowned Dr. Robert George Tardiff on July 26, 2023.

He was a founding member and a past-President (1993). He was an integral part of SRA for many years, and his imprint on protecting human health is immeasurable. His vision in founding SRA will live on, and we are immensely grateful for his contribution.

 He also worked for several environmental consulting companies over his professional career, culminating in his crowning achievement, the formation of his own company in 1997, The Sapphire Group, which he led for more than 15 years. Most recently, Bob volunteered on Georgetown University’s Institutional Review Board where the team operated to safeguard the rights and welfare of all human subjects who participate in research studies conducted by Georgetown.

Yacov Haimes (1936-2022) Obituary

We are saddened that Professor Yacov Y. Haimes passed away on February 15, 2022.

He was a Founding Member (1980) of the Society for Risk Analysis and served as the SRA President in 1997-1998 and on the SRA Council and Executive Board including as SRA Treasurer in 1993-1999. At the University of Virginia, he was the Founding Director Emeritus (1987) of the Center for Risk Management of Engineering Systems and the Lawrence R. Quarles Professor Emeritus of Systems Engineering and Civil Engineering (1987-2019).

Among numerous international awards and recognitions, he received the SRA Distinguished Achievement Award in 2000 and the SRA Distinguished Educator Award in 2010. He was a Fellow of the SRA, IEEE, AAAS, ASCE, INCOSE, AWRA, and IWRA. In 1977-78, he served at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy as an AGU Congressional Science Fellow. His most recent of several books Risk Modeling, Assessment, and Management, Fourth Edition, was published in 2015.

Over six decades in the profession of engineering, he made distinguished scholarly, leadership and humane contributions to the scientific community and through his students at the University of Virginia, Case Western Reserve University, and in continuing-education workshops. His research continues to have significant impacts across the fields of systems engineering, risk analysis and decision optimization.

Roger Kasperson (1938-2021)

We regret to inform our members that Dr. Roger Kasperson, former President and dedicated member of the Society has passed away. Roger was a distinguished academic and professor at Clark University and an early pioneer of risk perception research with his work on The Social Amplification/Attenuation of Risk Framework (SARF).

Over his distinguished career he was honored by the Association of American Geographers for his research on hazards, he also served on various committees of the U.S. National Research Council (a.k.a., National Science Foundation) as well as serving as a former President of the Society for Risk Analysis where he was given the 2006 Distinguished Achievement Award. He was an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences and served as executive director for the Stockholm Environment Institute 2000–2004. 


Howard Kunreuther (1938-2023) Obituary

Sharon Dunwoody (1947-2022) Obituary

David Burmaster (1946-2021) Obituary

Sally Kane (1955-2021) Obituary