Risk Analysis background image

Nine Honored by Society for Risk Analysis

Dec. 4, 2018

Today, the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) awarded six prestigious scholarly and service awards and named three new Fellows at its Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. These awards recognize nine individuals for their outstanding contributions to the society and to the science of risk analysis. The recipients were selected by a committee of SRA past presidents and approved by the SRA Council. This year’s awardees include: 

2018 SRA Chauncey Starr Distinguished Young Analyst Award – Aliya Sassi, Ph.D., from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Given to a professional age 40 or under, Sassi was recognized for her expertise in regulatory impact analysis, cost-benefit analysis, retrospective analysis of regulations, food safety, product labeling and international trade and for her work performing economic analyses of FDA regulations, policies and programs. 

2018 SRA Distinguished Educator Award – Ragnar Ernst Lofstedt, Ph.D., from King’s College London, for his substantial contributions to the training of new risk analysis experts.

2018 Richard J. Burk Outstanding Service Award – Karen W. Lowrie, Ph.D., from Rutgers University, and Louis Anthony Cox, Jr., Ph.D., from Cox Associates, for their extraordinary service to the society

2018 SRA Outstanding Practitioner Award – Richard Reiss, Sc.D., from Exponent, for his outstanding risk analysis practice in exposure assessment and dose-response modeling for pesticides and industrial chemicals. 

2018 SRA Distinguished Achievement Award – Kimberly M. Thompson, Sc.D., from Kid Risk, Inc., for her extraordinary achievements in risk analysis pertaining to her work on understanding and characterizing strategies to stop wild poliovirus transmission in Pakistan and Afghanistan, and other global risk management strategies. She has also been focused on the opportunity to globally eradicate measles and rubella. 

2018 SRA Fellows – Selected for their substantial achievements in science or public policy relating to risk analysis and substantial service to the Society, the 2018 class of SRA Fellows includes: Nancy B. Beck, Ph.D., DABT, from U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Rita Schoeny, Ph.D., from Rita Schoeny LLC, and Terje Aven, Ph.D., from Stavanger University, Norway.

Melanie Preve