Risk Analysis background image

Society for Risk Analysis Announces Its New 2019 Council

Dec. 4, 2018

During its Annual Meeting, the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) announced the addition of five new Council members and the rise of Katherine McComas, Ph.D., Cornell University, as the new President of its 2019 Council. McComas succeeds Terje Aven, Ph.D., University of Stavanger, Norway, who has completed his term and will continue to serve on the Council as past-president. 

Other officers elected include Seth Guikema, Ph.D., University of Michigan, as president-elect and Elisabeth Gilmore, Ph.D., Clark University, as secretary. Henry Willis, Ph.D., RAND Corporation, will move into the role of treasurer, and Bilal Ayyub, Ph.D., University of Maryland, will continue to serve on the Council as past-treasurer.

Newly elected Council members serving SRA are: Pia-Johanna Schweizer, Ph.D., Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Germany, Vanessa Schweizer, Ph.D., University of Waterloo, Canada, Mark Borsuk, Ph.D., Duke University, Royce A. Francis, Ph.D., George Washington University, and Shital Thekdi, Ph.D., University of Richmond.  

Under McComas’s leadership, the Council and its committees are poised to deliver on the organization’s strategic plan that features SRA’s year-round thought leadership, engagement with membership and the broader society, support for regional and special interest events, and the 2019 World Congress on Risk.

Council members who will continue to serve include: Jacqueline MacDonald-Gibson, Ph.D., University of North Carolina; Myriam Merad, Ph.D., National Center for Scientific Research, France; Sally Kane, independent consultant; Shoji Tsuchida, Ph.D., Kansai University, Japan; and Brett Burk, SRA Executive Secretariat.

Melanie Preve