Risk Analysis background image

Society for Risk Analysis Announces Its New 2020 Council

Dec. 10, 2019

During its Annual Meeting, the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) announced the addition of five new Council members and the rise of Seth Guikema, Ph.D., University of Michigan, as the new President of its 2020 Council. Guikema succeeds Katherine McComas, Ph.D., Cornell University, who has completed her term and will continue to serve on the Council as past-president.

Other officers elected include Robyn Wilson, Ph.D., Ohio State University, as president-elect, and Benjamin Trump, U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center, as treasurer-elect.

Newly elected Council members serving SRA are: Weihsueh Chiu, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, Nick Pidgeon, Cardiff University, and Amina Wilkins, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.   

Under Guikema’s leadership, the Council and its committees are poised to deliver on the organization’s strategic plan that features SRA’s year-round thought leadership, engagement with membership and the broader society, and support for regional and special interest events.

Council members who will continue to serve: Jacqueline MacDonald-Gibson, Ph.D., Indiana University; Mark Borsuk, Ph.D., Duke University; Myriam Merad, Ph.D., National Center for Scientific Research, France; Pia-Johanna Schweizer, Ph.D., Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Germany; Shital Thekdi, Ph.D., University of Richmond; Vanessa Schweizer, Ph.D., University of Waterloo, Canada; and Brett Burk, SRA Executive Secretariat. 

Melanie Preve