Risk Analysis background image


January 4, 2016

During its Annual Meeting, the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) announced the addition of three new Council members and the rise of Margaret MacDonell, PhD of Argonne National Laboratories, as the new President of its 2017 Council. MacDonell succeeds James H. Lambert, PhD of the University of Virginia who has completed his term and will continue to serve on the Council as past president. Other officers elected include Terje Aven, PhD of the University of Stavanger as president-elect, Sharon Friedman of Lehigh University as secretary and Bilal Ayyub, PE, PhD of University of Maryland as treasurer.  

Newly elected Council members serving SRA through 2019 are Patricia Nance, University of Cincinnati, Shoji Tsuchida, of Kansai University, and Sally Kane, PhD an independent consultant. 

“Our new Council members and officers reflect our diverse and broad-reaching international organization. Each of our Council members embodies the spirit of community and brings talent, expertise and energy to the table. We are very fortunate to have such rich leadership as we continue to strengthen global risk community,” said Margaret MacDonell, president. 

Under MacDonell’s leadership, the Council and its committees is poised to deliver on the organization’s annual plan that features SRA’s year-round thought-leadership, an increased marketing and communications presence, support for regional and special interest events and planning for the World Congress in 2019.

Council members who will continue to serve include Robin Dillon-Merrill, PhD of Georgetown University, Bruce A. Fowler, PhD of University of Alaska – Fairbanks and Emory University, Frederic Bouder, PhD of Maastricht University, Joe Arvai, PhD of University of Michigan, Robyn S. Wilson, PhD of Ohio State University, Sandra Hoffman, PhD of U.S. Department of Agriculture, Jacqueline Patterson of University of Cincinnati, Brett Burk.

Melanie Preve