Fourteen Honored by Society for Risk Analysis

Over the course of its virtual Annual Meeting, the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) awarded six prestigious scholarly and service awards and named seven new Fellows. These awards recognize 14 individuals for their outstanding contributions to the society and to the science of risk analysis. The recipients were nominated by their peers, selected by a committee of SRA members and approved by the SRA Council. This year’s awardees include:

2020 SRA Chauncey Starr Distinguished Young Analyst Award – Roger Flage, Ph.D., from the University of Stavanger. Given to a professional age 40 or younger, Flage is recognized for his contributions to establishing the foundations of risk analysis and his exceptional promise for continued contributions to the Society and risk science.  

2020 SRA Distinguished Educator Award – Ann Bostrom, Ph.D., MBA, from the University of Washington, for her contributions to training new experts in risk analysis.  

2020 Richard J. Burk Outstanding Service Award – Amber Jessup, Ph.D., from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, for her extraordinary service to the Society.

2020 SRA Outstanding Practitioner Award – Richard Forshee, Ph.D., from the U.S. FDA, and Tom Burke, Ph.D., MPA, Johns Hopkins University for their outstanding risk analysis practice.

2020 SRA Distinguished Achievement Award – Anthony S. Fauci, MD, from the National Institutes of Health for his extraordinary achievement and leadership in science and public policy in guiding our nation through a global public health crisis.  

2020 SRA/Sigma Xi Distinguished Lecturer – Bernard D. Goldstein, MD,from the University of Pittsburgh, a prominent Society member who will provide lectures through the Sigma Xi Organization.

2020 SRA Fellows – Selected for their substantial achievements in science or public policy relating to risk analysis and substantial service to the Society, the 2020 class of SRA Fellows includes: Felicia Wu, Ph.D., Michigan State University, Margaret “Peg” Coleman, Ph.D., Coleman Scientific Consulting, Shoji Tsuchida, Kansai University, Yasunobu Maeda, Ph.D., Shizuoka University, Tee Guidotti, MD, MPH, DABT, Consultant, Glenn Rice, Sc.D., U.S. EPA, and Seth Guikema, Ph.D., University of Michigan.