Untitled Design (43)
Economics and Benefits Analysis

News & Updates

Important Updates!

Thank you for being a member of the Economics and Benefits Analysis Specialty Group of the Society for Risk Analysis! We have several important updates for you.

Webinar announcement: National Capital Area Chapter (NCAC) Plans Silica Webinar (co-sponsored by the SRA Economics and Benefits Analysis Specialty Group and the Occupational Health and Safety Specialty Group)

In November 2018, Dr. Sally Kane, who was the President of the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) National Capital Area Chapter (NCAC), planned a silica risk assessment symposium to explore how the new OSHA silica standard evolved from the risk assessment. The symposium was postponed and then the pandemic occurred. This past spring Sally Kane passed away. To honor Dr. Kane’s memory, the NCAC executive committee has planned a webinar to explore the development of silica/silicosis risk management strategies. 

The webinar will take place on Thursday, November 4, 2021 from 4:00 p.m. through 6:00 p.m. EDT. The program will begin with presentations followed by a moderated discussion with all of the participants. The tentative agenda will be:

4:00 pm              Reflections on NCAC President, Sally Kane (Aliya Sassi)

4:05 pm              Introduction to the Program (Cristina McLaughlin)

4:10 pm              The taxonomy of silica-related disease (Tee Guidotti)

4:25 pm              Does silica cause cancer? (David Goldsmith)

4:40 pm              Historical development of silica occupational exposure limits (Frank Hearl)

4:55 pm              Protecting Lungs: OSHA’s 20-year Effort to Issue a Silica Standard (Jordan Barab)

5:10 pm              BREAK (10-minutes)

5:20 pm              Panel Discussion with Audience Q&A

5:55 pm              Closing Remarks (Linda Abbott)

Please register in advance for this meeting HERE.

EBASG Elections: It is time for nominations for the 2021 EBASG Executive Committee! We are requesting nominations for Secretary/Treasurer. If you would like to nominate yourself or someone else, please email elizabeth.quin@fda.hhs.gov or aliya.sassi@fda.hhs.gov no later than November 29, 2021. Self-nominations are encouraged. More information on the Executive Committee is available in our EBASG bylaws, which are posted on our new website.

Webinar recording is available: Our Economics and Benefits Analysis Specialty Group and the Engineering and Infrastructure Specialty Group co-hosted the webinar entitled Reflections on the Impact of Flatten the Curve on Interdependent Workforce Sectors by Prof. Joost R. Santos on April 22, 2021. The webinar recording is available here

Abstract: The expression “flatten the curve” has gained significant attention in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. The idea is to decrease and/or delay the peak of an epidemic wave so as not to strain or exceed the capacity of healthcare systems. There has been an increasing number of policy recommendations across the globe that favor the use of nonpharmaceutical interventions (NPIs) to flatten the curve. NPIs encompass mitigation and suppression measures such as quarantine, travel restrictions, and business closures. This talk aims to provide perspectives on the impact of mitigation and suppression measures on interdependent workforce sectors. Reflections on the trade-offs between flattening the curve versus personal liberty and socioeconomic disparities are also presented.

Speaker’s Bio: Prof. Joost Santos is currently an associate professor in the Department of Engineering Management and Systems Engineering at the George Washington University. His research interests lie at the intersection of systems engineering, disaster risk analysis, and economics. Prof. Santos is one of the principal investigators in the 2018 “Mitigation Saves Version 2.0” report that has been cited by many journals, news media, and research agencies across the world. He is also one of the principal investigators in an ongoing multi-university National Science Foundation grant: “CRISP 2.0 Type 2: Collaborative Research: Organizing Decentralized Resilience in Critical Interdependent-infrastructure Systems and Processes (ORDER-CRISP).” He has received two Best Paper awards from the Society for Risk Analysis, as well as the Leontief Memorial Prize from the International Input-Output Association.

EBASG website and dues: Please visit our updated website and share with us your ideas for improving it! Also, please remember to pay your $10 dues at:  https://members.sra.org/AF_MemberCommittee.asp. Your dues help support our events at the annual meeting and throughout the year.